Top Ten Tuesday – Never Read (Sept 15)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

I haven’t done one of these since April, so I’m glad that this week is as freebie, where I get to pick any topic from the list of previous top tens. So, I have chosen ‘Top Ten  Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read’.  These are all books that I think I’d like to read, but for some reason or other I’ve never got around to it.

  1. to kill a mockingbirdTo Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee. This book has been on the minds of many people lately for obvious reasons. It’s also a favourite of many, but it never really crossed my mind to read it. Maybe I’ll eventually read it, but I’m not in any hurry to, either.
  2. catcher in the ryeThe Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger. This is one that I’ve had on my shelf forever, but it remains unread. A lot of people talk about having read this in high school, but it was never part of our curriculum.
  3. game of thronesA Game of Thrones – George R.R. Martin. I know that I’d enjoy this book. I have the first four books in the series unread on my shelf, but they just seem so daunting at the moment. I want to watch the series eventually, but I’d really need to read the books first.
  4. kite runnerThe Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini. This is yet another book that sits unread on my shelf. I bought it at a used book store a few years back, with the intention of reading it that summer, but that never happened. I borrowed the graphic novel version at the library tonight, which may inspire me to read the actual book soon!
  5. silmarillionThe Silmarillion – J.R.R. Tolkien. I have owned a copy of this book for a really long time and, in one sense, it is not surprising that I haven’t read this yet, considering the size and style of it. I did try to read it a long time ago, but maybe it is time to try again.
  6. anna kareninaAnna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy. A lot of people have this one on their list of favourites, but I’ve only ever read some of Tolstoy’s shorter works. This one also seems a bit daunting, but maybe I need to get beyond that and give it a read.
  7. brothers karamazovThe Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoyevsky. His Crime and Punishment is one of my favourite reads, but to my shame I have never got around to reading this one. Hopefully, some day I will. It is also one more book that sits unread on my shelf.
  8. sense and sensibilitySense and Sensibility – Jane Austen. I’m not sure why I haven’t read this, as I read Pride and Prejudice a couple of years ago and quite enjoyed it. I had the intention of going on to reading the rest of her books, but other ones got in the way. I put this one on my Classics Club list, so that should help me eventually get to it.
  9. journey to the centre of the earthJourney to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne. This is one of those classics that everyone seems to have read at some time. I, however, seem to have missed out on that. This is another one that is both unread on my shelf and on my Classics Club list.
  10. orthodoxyOrthodoxy – G.K. Chesterton. I have read a fair bit of Chesterton’s fiction, but have left this book of non-fiction unread on my shelf. I intend to change that in the not too distant future.
Posted on September 15, 2015, in books, J.R.R. Tolkien, reading, The Classics Club, Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A lot of tough classics on this list! I’ve read a few of them, but didn’t love any of them enough to recommend them. I adore Pride & Prejudice, but haven’t warmed up to her other heroines as much so far. Still, they’re all cute romances.

    Like

    • The fact that some of these are seen as tough could be the reason I have so far avoided them. I’d still like to read a few of them at least. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. Well, I actually haven’t read any of these either – except the first two. To Kill a Mockingbird is SO GOOD and I loved The Catcher in the Rye as well, but it seems people either completely love it or hate it. But I totally agree – Anna Karenina definitely seems daunting. That’s what’s been keeping me away from it as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

