Top Ten Tuesday – Fall TBR List (Sept 22)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books On My Fall TBR’. Unfortunately most of my books are packed in boxes in a storage container next to our house as we await renovations to take place. I thought we would have had them unpacked by now, but I do have some unread books sitting around, as well as enough in both my Kobo and Kindle apps. Add to that the fact that the library is two minutes walk from our house, then it shouldn’t be too much of a problem to find things to add to my TBR list. I’ll just have to make some adjustments to my original reading ideas and everything will be alright. So, here is my list:

  1. Doctor Who: The Shakespeare Notebooks – Justin Richards. I picked this one up at Fan Expo earlier in the month. It looks like a fun read.
  2. Shattered Glass – Teresa Toten. I received this one from LibraryThing Early Reviewers a couple of months ago. I started it and forgot about it, but I should read it soon and get it reviewed.
  3. The Day it Rained Forever – Ray Bradbury. This is a collection of short stories I picked up this summer. I love reading Bradbury, so this is one I should enjoy.
  4. Slow Church: Cultivating Community in the Patient Way of Jesus – C. Christopher Smith, John Pattison, Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove. This one has been unread on my Kobo forever, so it’s time I got around to reading it.
  5. Convictions Matter: The Function of Salvation Army Doctrines – Ray Harris. This is yet another one I’ve had for too long, although I did start it and got distracted by something else. I’ll get into it again soon for sure.
  6. The Turn of the Screw – Henry James. I am already about half-way through this one, as it is on my list of 50 books for The Classics Club. I’m a bit behind in my classics reading, so finishing off this one should help me get back on track.
  7. Candide – Voltaire. This is another one on my classics list. I downloaded a free copy to my Kobo, so I have no excuse to leave it unread.
  8. The Autistic Brain: Thinking Across the Spectrum – Temple Grandin. I read a couple of chapters of this one last year, so it’s time to get back to it. It’s on my Kobo, so there’s no problem in accessing it.
  9. Lectio Divina – The Sacred Art: Transforming Words & Images Into Heart-Centered Prayer – Christine Valters Paintner.  Over the past couple of years I’ve been attempting to incorporate Lectio Divina into my daily living, so I’m hoping this book will help me in my continuing endeavours.
  10. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien. This is my favourite read and it’s been a few years since I last read it. I’m keeping my pocket edition handy, so that I’ll not be stuck for something to read wherever I am.

IMG_0212If I get stuck for choices, I also have the first twenty Penguin Little Black Classics to read, which I received as a gift yesterday.

Posted on September 22, 2015, in books, J.R.R. Tolkien, Little Black Classics, Penguin books, reading, TBR, The Hobbit, Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I loved The Turn of the Screw! Let us know how you like it whenever you finish it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

