Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Turn of the Screw (Oct 2)

The last three months have been a little frustrating in a number of aspects, for a number of reasons, not least in my ability to read some of the books that have been on my TBR list for longer than I hoped they would be. Most of these books are sitting packed in a shipping container in our driveway, so I have been forced to do more e-reading and have also been making more trips to the library than normal. Neither of these things are bad in themselves, but it’s frustrating not to have access to my books in the way that I was accustomed to before we moved. Hopefully, I should have them unpacked by Christmas, if everything goes to plan.

turn of the screwWith these frustrations out of my system, I can get to this week’s meme combo. I’ve returned to a book that I started on my Kindle app before we left Elliot Lake in June – The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. I’m hoping to get it finished this weekend, then that will be one more book read from my Classics Club list. GoodReads has the following description:

“The Turn of the Screw” is an intense psychological tale of terror. It begins in an old house on Christmas Eve. It is the story of a Governess who comes to live with and take care of two young children. The Governess loves her new position in charge of the young children, however she is soon disturbed when she begins to see ghosts.

So now for this week’s excerpts:

BB.ButtonBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of The Turn of the Screw:

The story had held us, round the fire, sufficiently breathless, but except the obvious remark that it was gruesome, as, on Christmas Eve in an old house, a strange tale should essentially be, I remember no comment uttered till somebody happened to say that it was the only case he had met in which such a visitation had fallen on a child.

This is quite a long opening sentence and seems to set up the story well. Hopefully I won’t have forgotten much when I get back to it!

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.Friday 56
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of The Turn of the Screw:

I just missed, on the staircase, on the other hand, a different adventure. Looking down it from the top I once recognized the presence of a woman seated on one of the lower steps with her back presented to me, her body half-bowed and her head, in an attitude of woe, in her hands. I had been there but an instant, however, when she vanished without looking round at me.

I have to admit I’ve struggled a bit with getting this book read. Maybe it’s because of the era it is from, but I’ll get it read soon, as I’m intrigued to find out what it is that is really going on.

Posted on October 2, 2015, in Book Beginnings, books, e-reading, Friday 56, library, moving, reading, TBR, The Clasics Club. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Doesn’t sound like my thing, but I hope you are enjoying it. I used to enjoy moving and did it a lot. Now, not so much and I want to stick in one place. What a Christmas you will have getting all your books back.
    sherry @ fundinmental Friday Memes

    Like

  2. I have heard of this book. Not sure I read it when in school.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Book Beginnings

    Like

  3. I remember trying to read this back in high school. It wasn’t for a class, so I wound up just giving up on it, so now I have to go back someday. I vaguely remember the narrator bugging me though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

