Teaser Tuesdays – Food Rules (October 13)

teasertuesdays2014eTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Here are my teasers for this week:

food rulesIf you’re going to let others cook for you, you’re much better off if they are other humans, rather than corporations. In general, corporations cook with too much salt, fat, and sugar, as well as with preservatives, colorings, and other biological novelties.

From page 37 of Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual by Michael Pollan.

Posted on October 13, 2015, in books, eating, food, reading, Teaser Tuesdays. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. So true. I know time is a huge element in people’s lives, but a good meal can be cooked as quickly as a bad one.
    sherry @ fundinmental My TT

    Like

    • Six years ago I decided to become a vegetarian, which made me more aware of how unhealthy much of my food choices had been up to that point. It really is quite easy to prepare healthy meals and all it takes is practice. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  2. Not sure I’d want to read a book that tells me how bad everything is for me. I’m picking up Indian food tonight and I’m planning on really enjoying it! Good teaser, though. Here’s my teaser: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-XS

    Like

    • I’m not really all that far into it yet, but I’m enjoying what I’ve read so far. Enjoy your Indian food tonight. I may have to make a curry tonight now! Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  3. Sounds like good information in this book. I try to eat a variety of foods and limit my intake of red meat. Lucky for me, my husband is an excellent cook. Unfortunately, he doesn’t like most vegetables so I’m on my own sometimes.
    My Tuesday post features Skinny Dip

    Like

    • I haven’t eaten any meat for over 6 years and I feel healthier for it. I used to dislike a lot of vegetables, but I’ve grown to love more of them over the years. Thanks for visiting and I’ll be sure to check out your post as well.

      Like

  4. I really should read this, as I’ve been interested in it for some time. I think it really is hard to eat well in this country if we don’t take time to really look at things. Great one!

    Like

    • You are right – it can be difficult to eat well at times, especially with the way a lot of the junk food is marketed. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

