Sci-Fi Month 2015 – An Introduction

sfm15_5

This post is part of Sci-Fi Month 2015, a month long event to celebrate science fiction hosted by Rinn Reads and Over the Effing Rainbow. You can view the schedule here, follow the event on Twitter via the official @SciFiMonth Twitter account, or the hashtag #RRSciFiMonth.

A couple of years ago I took part in the first annual Sci-Fi Month on my old blog, Two weeks from everywhere, and really enjoyed being a part of it. I had planned to participate again last year, but life conspired against me and I had to postpone my participation. This year I decided to give it another go, so here I am writing this year’s intro post.

I have had an interest in Sci-Fi for as long as I can remember, going back to the early 70’s when I would get my black and white fix of Doctor Who on a Saturday evening. In the years that have followed I have had more than a passing interest in Sci-Fi, although I would never describe myself as a die-hard fan. My main Sci-Fi interests tend to be fairly mainstream, enjoying such things as Star Wars, some of the Star Trek, Doctor Who, Douglas Adams, Ray Bradbury, and so on. I kind of remember reading a fair bit of Sci-Fi in my early teen years, but, sad to say, I can’t remember much of what it was. I do remember enjoying it, though.

When I took part in Sci-Fi Month 2013 I discovered that there is so much of the genre about which I am ignorant, with much to be discovered. This year I intend to pay much more attention to this and to try and discover some new authors for me to explore. I haven’t really worked out my own schedule for the month in any kind of detail, but I intend to include a few posts on some of my favourite things, as well as a few on some of the discoveries I make as the month progresses.

I really enjoy reading short stories and it seems that there is no shortage of Sci-Fi short story anthologies out there. So, one of the things I intend to do this month is to read at least one short story each day in an attempt to find some new (to me) authors that I enjoy, which will hopefully encourage me to check out some of their other works. I’d also like to be able to  write at least one post each week describing some of these discoveries. To help me with this I downloaded an anthology to my Kobo (The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Five ed. Jonathan Strahan) and borrowed another from the library (The Very Best of Fantasy & Science Fiction: Sixtieth Anniversary Anthology ed. Gordon Van Gelder).

I’m looking forward to a time of reading, sharing, and discovering. Let the month begin!

Posted on November 1, 2015, in blogging, books, Doctor Who, e-reading, library, Ray Bradbury, reading, Sci-Fi Month 2015, Star Trek, Star Wars. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing your SF intro, and it’s great to have you back 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

