Top Ten Tuesday – Christmas Wish List (Dec 22)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Leaving Under My Tree This Year’. I haven’t posted here much for a while now, due to a number of reasons I won’t get into right now, but I thought this would be a fun topic to get restarted with.

Every year round about the end of September I give my family a wishlist of books that I wouldn’t mind getting for Christmas. Usually there are about 12 books on the list and I’m usually fortunate enough to get at least half of them. Even though I come up with this list, it’s still lots of fun on Christmas morning discovering which ones I actually received. This year I came up with an initial list of 12, then added another later on that I had forgotten about. So this week’s top ten will in fact be a top baker’s dozen!

  1. The Buried GiantKazuo Ishiguro
  2. Undermajordomo Minor – Patrick deWitt
  3. The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto – Mitch Albom
  4. Simply Good News – N.T. Wright
  5. Daddy Lenin And Other Stories – Guy Vanderhaeghe
  6. The Sherlock Holmes Book – DK Publishing
  7. A Hobbit, a Wardrobe, and a Great War Joseph Loconte
  8. Amazing Fantastic Incredible: A Marvelous Memoir – Stan Lee
  9. The Bazaar of Bad Dreams: Stories – Stephen King
  10. Yes, My Accent Is Real: And Some Other Things I Haven’t Told You – Kunal Nayyar
  11. Stitches: A Handbook On Meaning, Hope And Repair – Anne Lamott
  12. The Life You’ve Always Wanted: Spiritual Disciplines for Ordinary People – John Ortberg
  13. The Story of Kullervo – J.R.R. Tolkien

It’s quite a varied list and I look forward to reading some of these very soon!

Posted on December 22, 2015, in books, Christianity, J.R.R. Tolkien, reading, The Hobbit, Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

