Top Ten Tuesday – Movies (Nov 15)

It’s been ages since I did one of these. In fact it’s been ages since I posted anything here at all. So, I need to get back to posting here more regularly again.

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

toptentuesdayThis week’s topic is ‘Movie Freebie — top ten all time favorite movies, top ten foreign films, top ten rom-coms, top ten 90’s movies, top ten action flicks, top ten tear-jerkers, top ten movies your favorite actor/actress is in, top ten movies with PoC leads, etc. etc.’ I think I’ll go for my all-time favourites.

This actually proved to be harder than I thought it would be. There are others I may have included on another day, but these are the ten I thought of today:

  1. Cinema Paradiso – a classic; wonderful story, great characters and performances, along with one of my favourite Ennio Morricone soundtracks. It’s worth watching over and over again, but has to be watched in the original language with English subtitles.
  2. The Mission – one of the few movies that make me cry every time I watch it. The story captivated me right from the moment I first saw it. Also, another great Morricone soundtrack.
  3. Babette’s Feast – a wonderful story of grace. It’s another one that has to be watched in the original language with English subtitles.
  4. O Brother, Where Art Thou? – this is my go to comedy. It’s my kind of humour and the music is great, too. I also love the outlandish characters.
  5. Once Upon a Time in the West – without a doubt, this is the best Western ever. It’s an epic, with some great performances, especially Henry Fonda as a bad guy. The soundtrack, once more, is a great one by Ennio Morricone.
  6. The Blues Brothers – this is another one I can watch again and again – great story, awesome soundtrack, innumerable big stars (including lots of great cameos).
  7. A Beautiful Mind – this was the first DVD I ever bought and is still one of my favourites. I think it is probably Russell Crowe’s finest performance. I find it to be such a moving story and one that is also well worth watching again and again.
  8. The Deer Hunter – another very moving one, with some very tragic moments. Some of the actors gave their best performances in this one and Christopher Walked was very worthy of his Oscar win.
  9. Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb – this is probably one of the most under-rated movies on my list. I think that, in all the different characters he plays, this is Peter Sellers best movie. I like all the Pink Panther movies he did, but this is his finest moment.
  10. A Christmas Carol (1951) – this is a must watch every year at Christmas, but it has to be the Alastair Sim version. I never grow tired of this and if I had to have one Christmas movie on my list, then this had to be it.

As I said before, there are other movies that may have made this list on another day, but for now this is my top ten. None of the Marvel movies made the list as it is hard to pick one, although I think that Doctor Strange may become my favourite of these. Also, none of the Star Wars movies made the cut, although if I had to choose one it would have to be The Empire Strikes Back. Other movies that just failed to get into my top ten include West Side StoryInceptionOnce Upon a Time in AmericaGladiator, and The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly, to name a few.

Posted on November 15, 2016, in movies, Top Ten Tuesday, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

