Top Ten Tuesday – 2016 Favourites (Dec 27)

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Best Books Of 2016 (you choose — best books overall of what you read regardless of pub date, of a particular genre, 2016 debuts, 2016 releases, etc)’ I didn’t read as many books as I’d hoped to this year, but the following 10 were the ones I enjoyed the most:

  1. Beyond Loneliness: The Gift of God’s Friendship – Trevor Hudson. I have almost finished this one, so it qualifies as one of the best I read this year. I read it as part of the 2016/17 Renovaré Book Club.
  2. Undermajordomo Minor – Patrick deWitt. Very funny and different. It’s just a shame that deWitt doesn’t bring out books more often, but I guess it makes it worth the wait for his next one.
  3. Hitman Anders and the Meaning of it All – Jonas Jonasson. Another hilarious read from Jonasson. I love his characters and the way he weaves their stories together.
  4. Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, and Repair – Anne Lamott. I always enjoy reading her books and this one was no exception.
  5. Love Wins: A Book About Heaven, Hell, and the Fate of Every Person Who Ever Lived
    – Rob Bell. This was a re-read, but it was worth it once more. It is probably my favourite book of his.
  6. A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro. Being a big fan of Sherlock Holmes, I have to admit I had my doubts about reading this one, being that the main character, Charlotte Holmes, was purported to be the great-great-great granddaughter of the famous fictional detective. However, my doubts were dispelled and it turned out to be a fairly enjoyable read after all.
  7. The Buried Giant – Kazuo Ishiguro. It took me a while to get into this one, but I persevered and the effort was worth it.
  8. The Underwater Welder – Jeff Lemire. This was probably the best of the graphic novels that I read this year.
  9. Out of Solitude: Three Meditations on the Christian Life – Henri J.M. Nouwen. This was the best meditative book I read this year and I found it very helpful at the time I read it.
  10. My Very Best Friend – Cathy Lamb. I read this one out of curiosity, as it was from a genre I don’t normally read. I was pleasantly surprised by it and it was a very funny and, at times, moving read. Sometimes it is good to try something different.

I’m hoping to get through more books in 2017 than I did in 2016 and am contemplating a reading challenge that might help me achieve this. Whatever happens, I know I’ll have fun trying.

Posted on December 27, 2016, in Anne Lamott, books, Christianity, faith, Henri Nouwen, Kazuo Ishiguro, reading, Renovaré, Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I need to finish A Study in Charlotte! I read about half of it and really liked it, and then kind of forgot about it :p I should pick it back up! Great list 🙂

    My TTT.

    Like

  2. My 2016 reading goal was 100. I’m right now at 96 or 97 and I am setting my 2017 goal as 100 again (I think). haha. It was hard but I think it will be easier next time. What was your goal?
    http://runwright.net

    Like

    • My goal was 75 and I am going to finish in the low 50s. I started off badly and just couldn’t catch up. I haven’t decided on a goal for 2017 yet, but it will probably be 75 again. Thanks for dropping by and all the best for your 2017 reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoy Holmes, too, so I’ll have to look up A Study in Charlotte. My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

