WWW Wednesday (Feb 1)

www-wednesdayWWW Wednesday is a weekly book meme hosted at Taking on a World of Words. Here is what you have to do to participate:

Answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments section the host page for others to look at.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading:

I have the following three books on the go at the moment:

  1. Life of the Beloved: Spiritual Living in a Secular World by Henri J.M. Nouwen. This is the second book for this year’s Renovaré Book Club. I’m only reading small portions each week, but it’s a good way to read Nouwen.
  2. Transgender Lives: Complex Stories, Complex Voices by Kirstin Cronn-Mills. I borrowed this from the library and am reading it for one of my reading challenges.
  3. Slow Church: Cultivating Community in the Patient Way of Jesus by C. Christopher Smith, John Pattison. I bought this one on Kobo a long time ago and never got beyond the introduction. Last week I listened to an interview with one of the authors about this book on the Renovaré podcast and was inspired to pick it up again.

Recently Finished:

orkney-twilightI finished one book in the last week: Orkney Twilight by Clare Carson. It was a decent read and I enjoyed the many references to places I grew up with in Orkney. It had enough twists to keep it interesting and I just found out it’s part of a trilogy, so I may need to look for the other two books some time.

Up Next:

stardustI’m still hoping to get to Neil Gaiman’s Stardust soon. It has been on my shelf for far too long a time.

Posted on February 1, 2017, in books, Christianity, church, Henri Nouwen, LGBTQ, library, Orkney, reading, reading challenges, Renovaré, TBR, WWW Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I see Neil Gaiman around a lot, but haven’t heard anything about his writing. Does he do a specific type of books? Or what makes him so lovable?

    Sidetracked, I know. I like the sounds of the first two books, but the third one just sounds like work. I’m not very patient 😦 Happy reading 😊

    Like

  2. I love reading books that take place near where I live. I hope that was fun and accurate! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

