Book Beginnings and Friday 56 -The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (Feb 3)

For this week’s meme combo I’m choosing a book I’ve had on my shelf unread for too long – The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith. I’m going to read it towards one of my reading challenges and it may inspire me to read the other books from this series that are also on my shelf. The following description comes from the back cover:

ladies detective agency.jpgThis first novel in Alexander McCall Smith’s widely acclaimed The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series tells the story of the delightfully cunning and enormously engaging Precious Ramotswe, who is drawn to her profession to “help people with problems in their lives.” Immediately upon setting up shop in a small storefront in Gaborone, she is hired to track down a missing husband, uncover a con man, and follow a wayward daughter. But the case that tugs at her heart, and lands her in danger, is a missing eleven-year-old boy, who may have been snatched by witchdoctors.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

bb-buttonBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency:

Mma Ramotswe had a detective agency in Africa, at the foot of Kgale Hill. These were its assets: a tiny white van, two desks, two chairs, a telephone, and an old typewriter. Then there was a teapot, in which Mma Ramotswe – the only lady detective in Botswana – brewed redbush tea. And three mugs – one for herself, one for her secretary, and one for the client. What else does a detective agency really need?

I like this beginning. I don’t know what else a detective agency would need, but there’s nothing wrong with a good cup of redbush tea.

friday-562.jpgThe Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency:

She watched him take the trumpet from its case and fit the mouthpiece. She watched as he raised it to his lips and then, so suddenly, from that tiny cup of metal against his flesh, the sound would burst out like a glorious, brilliant knife dividing the air. And the little room would reverberate and the flies, jolted out of their torpor, would buzz round and round as if riding the swirling notes.

I have no idea what this is about, but I really like how descriptive this is. I’ll try and get started on this book this weekend, as I’ll probably be stuck inside anyway recovering from a flu kind of thing that I’ve been struggling all week to shake off.

Posted on February 3, 2017, in Book Beginnings, books, Friday 56, reading challenges, TBR, tea. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This sounds delightful. And I love that name, Precious.

    My Friday 56 from Every Last Word

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this book, and his other series too about living in the flats of London…. can’t recall the name though. Happy weekend!

    Like

    • I have the first ten books of this series unread on my shelf, but apparently there are 17 so far. I think I have my work cut out for me! Hope you had a great weekend.

      Like

  3. I’ve been told I need to try this so many times – one of these days! 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

    Like

    • I’ve had this on my shelf for so long now that it’s time I got it read. I’d like to then go on to read some of the rest of the books in the series, but there are 17 now, so I’m not sure how far I’ll get.

      Like

Leave a Reply

