Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Wenjack (May 5)

After reading Secret Path last weekend I figured it was time to read Joseph Boyden’s Wenjack. It’s one I received from my family at Christmas and I’ve been meaning to get to it for a while now. I’ve also chosen it for this week’s Friday meme combo, my first of these posts for a few months. Goodreads has the following description:

wenjackAn Ojibwe boy runs away from a North Ontario Indian School, not realizing just how far away home is. Along the way he’s followed by Manitous, spirits of the forest who comment on his plight, cajoling, taunting, and ultimately offering him a type of comfort on his difficult journey back to the place he was so brutally removed from.

Written by Scotiabank Giller Prize-winning author Joseph Boyden and beautifully illustrated by acclaimed artist Kent Monkman, Wenjack is a powerful and poignant look into the world of a residential school runaway trying to find his way home.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

bb-buttonBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Wenjack:

SUCKER FISH

Gimik-wenden-ina? Do you remember? I remember, me.

I’m not really sure what this beginning is about, but it’s an interesting one for sure.

friday-562.jpgThe Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Wenjack:

We ride him to the edge of the woods to a bed of dried leaves where he drops to his knees and begins to cry so hard his shoulders shake us from him. He buries his face into the leaves so that the girl and her mother won’t hear.

This is from a chapter with the title WOOD TICK, so I’m guessing that this show of extreme grief or upset is being told from the perspective of a wood tick. This is not a big book, so if I get the time I should be able to get through it in one sitting. I think tomorrow is supposed to be lousy weather-wise, so I should have the opportunity to do so.

Posted on May 5, 2017, in Book Beginnings, books, Friday 56, reading. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I love a rainy day for lots of reading! I’m not sure I can handle the perspective of a wood tick but I do like the teaser and you mention that it’s a short book so I might have to brave it!

    Like

  2. priyankaswonderland

    It doesn’t sound like my kinda book but from the teaser you shared it sounds sad but nice.
    Here’s my Friday Reads

    Like

  3. Sounds unique, and that draws me in! Happy weekend!

    Like

  4. I think I’ll have to add this to my tbr. 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

    Like

Leave a Reply

