Stacking the Shelves (July 21)

Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! More details and about how you can participate can be found HERE.

I added the following seven books to my shelves this past week:

IMG_1521.JPG

  1. Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – I picked this up at the library stall during Heritage Day in St Marys last Saturday.
  2. The Asian Journal of Thomas Merton – I also picked this one up at the library stall.
  3. Lost Boy by Shelley Hrdlitschka – I received this ARC copy from Early Reviewers at LibraryThing. It’s due for publication in October.
  4. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson – this is another one I got from the library stall.
  5. Ironclads at War: The Monitor vs the Merrimac by Dan Abnett, Ron Wagner (Cover Artist), Dheeraj Verma (Illustrator) – this little graphic novel was being given away by a friend, so I grabbed it.
  6. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Dan Rafter (Adapter), Bhupendra Singh Ahluwalia (Illustrator), Jules Verne – another small graphic novel my friend was giving away. Sometimes these little adaptations aren’t too bad, so I’ll have to see how this one is.
  7. Three Men in a Boat: The Graphic Novel by Nidi Verma, Jerome K. Jerome, K.L. Jones – this was also being given away by my friend.

I’ll probably get Lost Boy started soon, as I need to review it. The three graphic novels should be fairly quick reads, but I’m not sure when I’ll get to the others.

SaveSave

SaveSave

Posted on July 21, 2018, in books, Early Reviewers, graphic novel, library, LibraryThing, memoir, reading, review, Stacking the Shelves, Thomas Merton. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Jenny Lawson is such a hoot. I love her books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. Hope you enjoy it as well. I have her second book but haven’t read it yet. Great haul.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Added: The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells, The Princess Bride, The German Girl, Dear Reader and a couple of others since I picked up a stack of books for only 50 cents at the library. Two review books arrived and are still in the box!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Asian Journal of Thomas Merton sounds fascinating. I’d love to visit your library stall!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Twice a year they also have a sale inside the library. They don’t charge prices for each individual item, but instead just ask for donations. I’ve found some great things at their sales.

      Like

Leave a comment