Musing Monday (May 15)

monday

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme, hosted by Ambrosia at The Purple Booker, that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: How do you review your books? Do you review them right away as soon as you finish reading them? Or do you let them wait a bit and do you ever fall behind?

I’ll answer the random question first and then see if I can answer a few of the set prompts.

Random question…

For a while there I wasn’t reviewing any of the books I read, because I got so far behind and discouraged. This year I decided that I should attempt to write a review for every book I read, even if it’s only a few sentences. Because of this I now try to write the review right after I’ve finished reading the book. This way the book is still fairly fresh in my mind and I can keep up with things. I’ve been writing all my reviews on Goodreads. Writing the reviews in this way is working for me so far and I’m keeping up with it very well.

Now for a couple of the other prompts:

I’m currently reading…  Finding God in the Waves: How I Lost My Faith and Found It Again Through Science by Mike McHargue – I’m really enjoying this one and might even get it finished tonight.

I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)… I took part in the SavvyReadathon on Saturday, which ran from 9am-9pm. It was a fun event and I hope to take part in something similar again. I managed 3 books and got about a third of the way through another. I probably would’ve managed more if I hadn’t stopped reading to watch TFC, plus I had to go out and run an errand at one point. If I plan better for the next one I might manage to read more than I did this time. It doesn’t matter too much anyway, as I enjoyed what I managed to get read.

Posted on May 15, 2017, in books, life, Musing Mondays, reading, review. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I am currently reading: YOU’LL NEVER KNOW, DEAR by Hallie Ephron. Very good so far.

    Last weekl I blogged about and reviewed two books I had read.

    The answer to the question about when I review is this:

    I write my review as I read so it is ready for editing when I am done with the book. Makes it much easier for me, and I know the review is done for posting or for scheduling for a future date.

    I never fall behind in my reviews simply because that’s the way I am. LOL!!

    ENJOY your reading week, and I am glad I saw this post in my e-mail. I didn’t know about this weekly meme.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

    Like

    • I’ve only just got back to participating in this meme recently. The questions are sometimes fun. Thanks for visiting and I hope you have a great week of reading.

      Like

  2. The same thing happened to me with reviewing and I still haven’t gotten back into it.

    Enjoy your reading for this week! The readathon sounds like it was fun and productive!

    http://twobirds1blog.blogspot.ca/2017/05/musing-mondays-up-next-on-my-reading.html

    Like

    • It’s hard to get back into when you’ve gotten behind. Hopefully you’ll get back into the swing of it again. Thanks for visiting and I hope you have a great week of reading (and reviewing)..

      Like

Leave a comment